Baby Steps Update

So I’m doing terrible at this blogging thing so far. I was hoping to post every other day or so but life has been so crazy it’s hard to find time. Each time I write a blog post on a certain topic I spend several hours researching and I read and research at least 8-10 sources/articles. I don’t want to post something that is incorrect or something one random source reported. I try to be as accurate as possible so it takes quite a while to actually research and write a post. πŸ™‚

We have been making some progress in our desire to change what we eat. We are trying to buy more organic foods and make better choices. We have not had fast food since April 8 (except on the way home from our trip to the beach this past weekend we had to eat at Taco Bell because there were very few choices where we were. I got the cantina bowl but never could find the ingredients listed online).

So if you are wondering what baby steps are they are basically steps in the right direction toward where you would like to be (aka what you would like to buy and eat some day).

Right now we can’t afford $4 organic eggs so our compromise is cage free eggs (yes, I’m aware that since they are not organic their feed could contain GMO). The cage free eggs at Trader Joe’s are $2.69. In case you’re wondering here is a good post from Southernsavers.com about the difference between Conventional, Cage Free, and Free Range eggs: http://www.southernsavers.com/2012/08/organic-living-journey-learning-about-egg-labels-saving/

Eggs we currently buy

Eggs we currently buy

Eggs we would like to buy (or local eggs if possible)

Eggs we would like to buy (or local eggs if possible)

Right now we can’t afford organic butter ($4.79 for organic butter is a culture shock considering I used to get margarine for about $0.05). We stopped buying nasty stuff like Smart Balance several months ago. Then we started buying real butter (like Land O Lakes butter). Then we took another baby step and started buying butter that is hormone/anti-biotic free (it’s $2.79 it’s now up to $2.99 at Trader Joe’s). Eventually we will get to the organic butter but right now our budget doesn’t allow for it.

Butter we currently buy

Butter we currently buy

Butter we will eventually buy

Butter we will eventually buy

We are also currently buying the hormone/anti-biotic free cheese from Whole Foods and/or Trader Joe’s. Eventually we’ll get to organic cheese. πŸ™‚

Our favorite cheese

Our favorite cheese

$3.99/lb. is a great price!

$3.99/lb. is a great price!

You just have to do what you can to make better choices with the money and resources you have. I try not to let myself feel guilty for not buying the best of the best. I still looks for sales and deals on healthier items, read ingredient labels, and follow the dirty dozen/clean 15 when it comes to produce.

Food Babe recently posted an article about how to save on organic foods. I found it helpful so I wanted to share it. Just realize you may not be able to follow it perfectly. Just do what you can. She gives you over 75 tips! http://foodbabe.com/2013/05/20/how-to-eat-organic-on-a-budget/

We have greatly enjoyed meal planning and cooking at home (my hubby does a lot of the cooking. He’s amazing). We are also enjoying shopping at healthier stores like Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Earth Fare. We have no desire for fast food and rarely eat out anymore. This has been an eye opening journey and I can’t wait to continue on it! Have you taken any baby steps to healthier living? If so I would love to hear about it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Steps Update

  1. Courtney says:

    Great post! I agree that every baby step counts & don’t beat yourself up about the occasional need to eat out or buy the “not so perfect” product. Per your suggestion, we have switched to Aunt Annie’s brand macaroni & cheese or raviolis & we use TJ eggs & butter (I felt very proud of myself when I saw here that you buy the same butter). πŸ™‚

  2. erindallison says:

    Aww yay!! I’m happy to hear this! Thank you for sharing! I noticed the Annie’s Mac and Cheese is bogo at Ingles this week (ends today 5/25). πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

