Product Review: Lavilin Deodorant

IMG_3071

Over the past month my family has made some major food changes. But since I started reading labels and researching nearly every ingredient, I couldn’t stop with just food. I started reading the labels on our body care products and what I found was disheartening.

I have known for a long time that conventional deodorant/anti-perspirant was not good for you. I have heard in the past that aluminum is not good for your body. But until recently, I didn’t really know what to do because me and my couponing self had over 20 free (or better than free) conventional deodorants. Since I recently decided that my health is more important than money, I decided that I could no longer use the “but I get deodorant for free and I have a shelf full of them” excuse.

Good bye, old deodorant!

Good bye, old deodorant!

And yes, the picture above is the deodorant/anti-perspirant that I have sitting in my bathroom at the moment. The stuff that’s open is being thrown away. The unopened ones are being donated.

Before I get to the actual review I need to just mention a couple things about conventional deodorant/anti-perspirant. Anti-perspirants contain aluminum or zirconium which cause our pores to close up and they keep our body from sweating (which is what the body is supposed to do; sweating is natural and healthy). Anyways, aluminum has been linked to Breast Cancer and Alzheimer’s Disease. As I did my research on this I found that this issue is heavily debated. But you know what? I don’t want to be the guinea pig. I would rather err on the side of safety regardless.

Aluminum is not the only worrisome ingredient. Many deodorants contain Parabens, Propylene Glycol, Phthalates, and Triclosan- all of which are harmful chemicals that can cause endocrine disruption, central nervous system damage, birth defects, and even cancer.

Lavilin was recommended to me by my aunt whom I love and trust. She told me it was the only natural deo that worked for her and she has been using it for years. I decided I had to try it out. You can order Lavilin from Amazon, drugstore.com, vitacost.com, iherb.com, etc. I have not seen it in any local health stores (I’ve checked them all). I ordered my Lavilin from drugstore.com since I have free 2 day ShopRunner shipping. Lavilin usually sells for around $11-$17. But when you realize that you only have to use it ever 3-7 days then the price doesn’t look so bad. 🙂

Ok. So, after getting deodorant for free for 4 years it was a bit hard to pay $14 for one thing of deodorant. But let me tell you why I will never go back to the other stuff and what I love about my new deo.

What does Lavilin offer? Odor free up to 7 days. No alcohol. No aluminum. No parabens. No phthalates. No BHT. No petrolatum. Gender neutral (no distinct smell). Water resistant. Does it live up to this?

I first applied Lavilin on Thursday, April 18 (my wedding anniversary!). That same day my family and I walked around the zoo for 2.5 hours. No smell. Barely any sweat. That weekend my husband and I took an anniversary trip to Asheville, NC where we spent 7 hours walking around the Biltmore Estate in one day. It worked great! Let me just say that the deodorant did not start to wear off until Monday, April 22…4 days after I applied it! I reapplied a small amount that day (April 22) and I have had little to no wetness so far. After my second application (on April 22) it once again did not start to wear off until 4 days later on April 26! I applied it again on April 26 and then again on April 30. Today is May 2 and everything is still great! 🙂

My hubby and me on our anniversary trip celebrating 4 years together!

My hubby and me on our anniversary trip celebrating 4 years together!

Lavilin really is water resistant. I have been showering and shaving as usual and it has not effected the deodorant at all. It does go on white but does fade throughout the day. It has not stained my clothes. There is no strong smell. And I also like how it’s applied. It comes in a little tub and the deo is the consistancy of thick lotion or cream. You use the small plastic applicator to apply it to your armpits (your fingers would work just as well). This makes it nice because you could share the Lavilin if you wanted to. 🙂 I shared it with my hubby because I wanted him to try it. It doesn’t seem to be quite as effective on men. He applied it in the morning on April 18 and it lasted til April 19– a full 24 hours. However, that’s pretty good considering his conventional deodorant/anti-perspirant didn’t even last 24 hours!

So while the Lavilin did not last a full 7 days I think 4 days is pretty darn good! I think this tub should last me for a while. I would definitely recommend this product. Hope this was helpful!

UPDATE: I did not list the ingredients in Lavilin because there seemed to be a discrepancy online. There were 2 different ingredient lists showing up on different websites and I did not want to post the wrong one. From what I’ve heard Lavilin has changed it’s formula several times. While checking drugstore.com I noticed that the ingredients listed Tetrasodium EDTA (NOT good). I never remembered seeing that before so I made a few phone calls. I called the company directly (Lavilin) and had the employee pull the current ingredient list. She assured me that the old formula contained EDTA but the newest one does not. They dropped the EDTA and added a few other ingredients to make it easier to spread. I was relieved. So the information on Lavilin.com is correct. Those are the correct ingredients. The ingredients listed on drugstore.com and iherb.com are incorrect and not yet updated.

I then called drugstore.com to let them know the ingredients have changed. They said they had been notified but hadn’t updated their website yet. The girl sent her tech team a note to have it updated asap. She couldn’t verify exactly which Lavilin I received (new formula or old formula) but she was pretty sure I received the new one (sans EDTA). I wish I didn’t throw my box away. :/

hypo-allergenic-underarm-xlrg

Here is the correct ingredient list for Lavilin:

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil & Hydrogenated Castor Oil & Copernica Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Zinc Oxide, Potato Starch (modified), Talc (pharma), Triethyl Citrate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract, Glycine Soya, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Tocopherol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Lactose, Milk Protein, Bifida Ferment Lysate, Fragrance, O-Cymen-5-Ol

Lavilin works by eliminating bacteria. It’s bacteria that causes you to stink…not sweat. Lavilin uses essential oils to do this. And it does it wonderfully!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Product Review: Lavilin Deodorant

  1. Diane says:

    Lovely review and cute anniversary picture 🙂
    I could not agree more with you about Lavilin!! My sister-in-law convinced me to try it once and I am absolutely in love with the product! My husband and I do lots of outdoorsy stuff: we hike, jog, ski, swim – you name it! Lavilin has ALWAYS worked for me! I only use it once every five days and I’m all set – no odor, no rashes, no irritations! Glad it’s working for you too!!

  2. sade says:

    I’m not big with the ingredients list, and although I didn’t see aluminum, there were still a lot of other ingredients that I didn’t know what they were, so I am glad someone saved me the headache! It’s good to know this is pretty safe. Thank you

  3. naturalmama17 says:

    I just bought some Lavilin myself…the concern I have with it is the Fragrance ingredient. What many consumers don’t know is that in the cosmetics/personal care industry, fragrance is where companies can hide ingredients that they don’t want potential customers to know about (in the industry it’s known as a “trade secret”–they don’t have to reveal their fragrance ingredients since other companies could copy their formulations). The Environmental Working Group (EWG) ranks the ingredient “fragrance” as an “8” on a scale of 0-10 in terms of toxicity (www.cosmeticsdatabase.com) and in random testing they discovered that 75% of products that didn’t list phthalates on the package contained phthalates–they were hidden in the “fragrance.” So frustrating! I had high hopes for this product!

    • erindallison says:

      I’m sorry. 😦 The more I research the more I realize how much companies can hide in things (like “natural flavor.”) I too am not thrilled by the fragrance that is added. I wonder if I call the company if they will let me know what they use for fragrance. It may be harmless (like an essential oil) or may be dangerous like you mentioned. Yesterday I actually ordered some Primal Pit Paste to try. I’m excited to see how it works. I’ve heard good things about it and they only use essential oils for fragrance.

  4. JC Corres says:

    I must say that this review provided a wonderful in fight for me on Lavilin:). Glad to have seen you join the healthy side of deodorant just as I have. It wasn’t too long ago when I found out how harmful deodorant can be for you. I mean it’s been years since I’ve been using deodorant; I wish that someone could have informed me earlier:(. Right now, I have my eye set on Tom’s of Maine deodorant. On a more random note, have you ever tried making your own deodorant before? I heard that was healthy and even cost efficient as well.

    • erindallison says:

      I haven’t tried making my own yet but I’ve seen some neat recipes! I just ordered some Primal Pit Paste deodorant this week to try next! I can’t wait to try it!

      • JC Corres says:

        I’m surprised out how many deodorant brands there are out there haha. I’ve never heard of Primal Pit Paste, but I did just look it up now and it seems promising!

      • Chris says:

        Did you ever write a review on Primal Pit Paste? I am wondering how it stacks up against Lavilin?

  5. naturalmama17 says:

    Right after I bought the Lavilin for the first time, a friend recommended Soapwalla deodorant cream, which doesn’t have any sketchy ingredients in it, and actually works for me (I’ve been using various natural deodorants for 22 years, this seems to be working better than most others that I’ve tried–has to be applied every day though). I even convinced my husband to try it and he’s been using it. I ordered it from the BeautyHabit website (via amazon).

    • erindallison says:

      Wow! Neat! Thanks for letting me know about that. I have tried Primal Pit Paste and it irritated my skin so I have switched back to Lavilin. I will need to look into this other one. Thanks!

  6. Geoffrey Levens says:

    Here’s a squeaky clean one if you are still looking. I have not yet tried it, about to order some from Amazon, but I do know ozone is powerful bacteria killer and the very few other ingredients are about as good as it gets even if making your own!

    Ozone Layer Deodorant
    http://ozonedeodorant.com/faq/

  7. Bill Dane says:

    Erin Hello. Please let us know the results of your “fragrance” + call to the Company !!!!! Thanks to all for helping here. I am so satisfied with the Lavilin results & how long the jar lasts = have suspicions about side effects. Grateful Bill and Family…

  8. Lisa Samy says:

    I have been using this for about 6 months now. I love that I have no issues with odour anymore! I still sweat, but no odour out ranks this for sure. One major issue I have had twice now, and I recall it saying not to do this but I was in a rush. Shaving and then applying. Yikes! I did this and ended up with 4 cysts in one armpit and 2 in the other. It was a painful few days. And you would think I would learn, I did it again thinking I would be fine as I had more time apart, shave in the morning and apply in the evening, no, I have one large cyst left to deal with.

    There is also one ingredient I was concerned about after rereading the ingredients today, Glycine Soya. ” There is also a 2001 study that links the phytoestrogen properties of glycine soja to breast cancer in animals. A 2006 study reiterated these findings, but most literature on the ingredient is positive.” https://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/glycine-soja

    Now whether this is in fact an issue, not sure.

    Also, thank you ladies for the reminder about the ingredient “fragrance”. Very frustrating.

    On the hunt for a new deodorant. Any suggestions?

    • erindallison says:

      Yikes. Thak you for pointing that out. I’m going to do some research on glycine soya now. Primal Pit paste is a good clean deo but I couldn’t use it because it gave me a rash. Some people are fine with it and love it.

Leave a Reply

