The Fresh Market– Is it worth it?

Ok I promise that after this post we will get back to the chemicals. 🙂 But I wanted to talk for just a second about my trip to The Fresh Market the other day.

photo

We went on Tuesday because every Tuesday in April The Fresh Market has antibiotic/hormone free ground beef and boneless skinless chicken breast for $2.99/lb. (Obviously organic grass fed and organic free range is better but remember- baby steps). After spending $131 last week on groceries I told my hubby that this week we would spend under $60. So we grabbed 3 lbs. of ground beef and 2.5 pounds of chicken all for $16. (And I’m proud to report that we are done grocery shopping for the week and only spent $55 total!)

While at the Fresh Market I decided to check some prices. The only way you will get a good deal is if you get something on sale. Otherwise their prices are very high. They have mostly national brand items. Last time I was there I asked an employee if they take coupons and she said no. So you won’t even be able to use coupons to help save on items there (someone correct me if I’m wrong!). I saw several things on sale but nothing so fantastic that it’s worth sharing (except for the meat).

As you can see in the following pictures, the prices at The Fresh Market are quite high.

The organic low sodium chicken broth at Trader Joe's is $1.99. At The Fresh Market it's $2.99.

The organic low sodium chicken broth at Trader Joe’s is $1.99. At The Fresh Market it’s $2.99.

I bought this cereal on sale at Bi-lo for $1.50 this week. It's $4.49 at The Fresh Market.

I bought this cereal on sale at Bi-lo this week for $1.50. It’s $4.49 at The Fresh Market.

The Fresh Market did not appear to have any organic meat (although I couldn’t get a good look due to the line of people waiting for meat. We had to take a number and wait our turn to place our meat order!). You DO have to read labels at The Fresh Market. I tasted a sample of pimento cheese they had and then looked at the label and saw that it contained sodium benzoate! Ick. Several items I checked also contained harmful preservatives and artificial food colors etc.

Here are the positive things about The Fresh Market:

• Pretty flowers
• Good coffee
• Good meat sales on certain days of the month

Sorry this post is so short. But I really couldn’t think of anything fantastic about The Fresh Market. I think you’re better off shopping at Trader Joe’s and/or Whole Foods. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Fresh Market– Is it worth it?

  1. Joy Wetterlund says:

    awe..i had no idea their pimento cheese had sodium benzoate in it…oh bummer..i love their pimento cheese…i guess every once in a great while i can have it since now i am in WA :-)!.I always liked going there just to sample their coffee, and to taste samples if they had any out!

  2. ExecuDiva Jackson says:

    Yesterday, I went to The Fresh Market for the first time. I bought a delicious sweet potato pie. I looked at the ingredients at the top of the label, and they were fine –sugar, sweet potatoes, milk, etc. When I got home the bottom of the lable which was folded underneath said, “Contains 2% or less of each of the following: high frutose corn syrup, carmel color, potassium sorbate, EDTA, I returned the pie along with the potato salad with sodium benzoate and potassium sorbate. I just prayed real hard, then I ate the delicious New England Clam Chowder without even reading the label.

  3. Rebekah says:

    I’ve been buying the chicken at our new Fresh Market every Tuesday since they opened here in Delray Beach (about 6 months). We only eat chicken and eat tons of it and the other grocery store charged way more and the chicken quality was “yuck!” So far, the chicken was great! The flesh was pink, soft, and smelled sweet. Last week, the chicken was super slimy, did not smell rotten but definitely not innocent. The edges of the breast were opaquely whitish yellow. And the larger part of the breast was tough (even though it was raw) and dark red. I know when chickens are older when slaughtered, the quality is visible. I’ve been handling raw chicken since I was a child. I know chicken!! I’m not sure if they changed companies or had too much in the freezer in back. I’m totally disappointed and do not trust their sale or product anymore. Of course, I bought 12 pounds the last time I was there because I got an email saying it was the last Tuesday for the sale. Needless to say, we have a freezer full to finish.

  4. I find the best way to eat healthy products at the Fresh Market is to just buy sale items. Otherwise the prices are high. I skip on favorite products to save money and opt for something I havent tried. Tuesday sales are the best!

  5. I go to Fresh Market only because they’re the only place in town that carries GUS Sodas – my very favorite – I’ll go out of my way on occasion to get some (even order on Amazon if I have to). It’s out of my way and pretty expensive to shop at as a main grocery store, but I always find it pleasant to shop in there.

Leave a Reply

