Shopping at Conventional Grocery Stores

Those of you that know me know how I love to coupon and if you read my first blog post you know that I have really cut back on couponing because I no longer feel comfortable feeding my family many of the things that I can get for free or pennies with coupons (yes, there are occasional coupons for fruits and veggies etc). There really is one thing that has changed my mind about food. What is it? Google. I began reading every label and “googling” every ingredient.

I am quite busy at home with my 2 and 3 year old so I’m not to the point of making everything from scratch yet. Maybe someday I’ll get there. But for now we do still need to buy some pre-made foods/convenience foods. So I’ve decided that I’m ok with that and that I’ll buy better-for-you-chemical-free packaged foods. 🙂 Yes, I know it’s easy to make soup at home (we do it often) but some days are crazy and I need something to throw into my husband’s lunch box for him to take to work. So instead of Campbell’s chemical soup I’ll buy Wolfgang Puck’s organic soup (which is currently on sale at Publix for $2 a can). (FYI- my favorite is the Signature Tortilla and my hubby’s favorite is the Hearty Lentil Vegetable). UPDATE: I am quite sad to admit that I did not read the Wolfgang Puck soup label very well. Not sure if ALL of them have it but the 3 kinds we have in the pantry all contain MSG (listed as autolyzed yeast extract and yeast extract). I am highly disappointed and will be looking for a new organic soup. 😦

So see? We’re taking baby steps. We can’t afford to buy everything organic either. So we try to use the “The Dirty Dozen” list and resources like that.

One way to save on healthier food is to look for sales and coupons at stores like Publix. I have recently noticed that several natural and/or organic brands have gone on sale at regular stores including Bi-lo, Publix, Target, and even Big Lots! Brands like Annie’s, Amy’s, Earth’s Best, Uncle Sam, Nature’s Path, Bear Naked, Bear River Valley, Back to Nature, etc. have been on sale!

I recently found these at Target for the same price as the nasty stuff that rhymes with steff soymardee! And BPA free! I’m not a fan of these but my husband was thrilled. (Just close your eyes and don’t look at the sodium content).

I recently found these at Target for the same price as the nasty stuff that rhymes with steff soymardee! And BPA free! I’m not a fan of these but my husband was thrilled. (Just close your eyes and don’t look at the sodium content).

Today I bought Bear River Valley cereal at Bilo for half price ($1.50/bag) and also earned $0.05 in fuel perks for buying 2 bags of it. Obviously cereal is not fantastic for you but I’m not to the point of making my own yet. Again, maybe someday. 😉

So today I went to Publix to grab a few things I had coupons for. Yes, I realize we don’t need cookies but let me tell you something– those Back to Nature Peanut Butter Cookies are AMAZING dipped in almond milk. A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. Oh, and Silk almond milk is non-GMO and does not contain carrageenan. I’ve decided that for now I will continue to buy a few random (healthier) things at Publix and Bilo and then the rest at Trader Joe’s. For example, we were out of almond milk and the almond milk at TJ’s is $2.99. However with the sale and my $1 off coupon I got the Silk brand for $1.50 (half of the cost of TJ’s). So it’s worth it to me to continue going to conventional stores for a few things. Those Edy’s fruit bars (very yummy and all natural) were only $0.32 a box with my coupons. So I couldn’t resist. 🙂

Got all this at Publix today. I spent $18 but saved $17!

Got all this at Publix today. I spent $18 but saved $17!

Baby Step: Make better choices on snacks and packaged foods.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

