Skeletons in the Closet…or Pantry

So yesterday I decided to go through my cabinets, pantry, and fridge and read all the labels on everything. After doing hours of research I know pretty much what red flags to look for. I was surprised to find so many things with harmful chemicals. Who would have thought that PICKLES have sodium benzoate and Yellow 5?! So I decided that all the unacceptable food needed to go. Anything already open went straight into the trash. Anything not opened is being donated to a local church food pantry. Here is a picture of most of the stuff I am getting rid of:

The food that is finding a new home

The food that is finding a new home

Sadly, many canned beans contain a harmful preservative: Disodium EDTA (did you know EDTA is made from formaldehyde and sodium cyanide?!) Everything you see pictured has toxic preservatives or additives and many things have multiple “nasties” (as my dear friend calls them). Boxed Potatoes and Soup: MSG. Mac and Cheese: Yellow 5 & 6, Cereal: BHT, Ketchup: HFCS, Mayo: EDTA, Smart Balance: artificial flavors, calcium disodium EDTA, and TBHQ (wow! Nothing smart about that!), Jelly: artificial colors, Cake Mix: Aluminum, Trans Fats, Propylene Glycol, Caramel Color, Yellow 5, and the list goes on and on.

There were other things I also got rid of that I just couldn’t fit into the picture. Things like Morningstar Farms Veggie Burgers (which sound healthy, right? Wrong. They contain MSG). And I threw away all of our salad dressings. Those were terrible! They contain Propylene Glycol, Sodium Benzoate, Disodium EDTA, and many artificial colors. How sad (especially since as a couponer most of these things were free. Or merely pennies).

For lunch yesterday I decided to make tuna (on whole grain bread) but I looked at the ingredients in my lite mayonnaise and well, that went into the trash too. I ended up using sour cream. The only sketchy ingredient in that is Carrageenan, but we’ll talk about that at a later date. You have to pick your battles. 🙂

After I removed this food I looked again in my fridge and cabinets and noticed that they were pretty bare. So I decided that we were going to go to Trader Joe’s today to replace many of the things I’m getting rid of. Stay tuned to see what all I purchased! 😀 Is there anything in your cabinets you need to get rid of?

Baby Step: Getting rid of any food item containing harmful chemicals such as BHT/BHA, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Benzoate, TBHQ, Artificial Colors, Trans Fats, HFCS, Propylene Glycol, Caramel Color, Aluminum, Aspartame, MSG, etc.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Skeletons in the Closet…or Pantry

  1. Denise Dukeshier says:

    Proud of you, Erin. That’s tough to do but you won’t regret it!

  2. Courtney says:

    I’d like to see recipes for what you are eating now! 🙂 A lot of recipes call for condensed soups and beans, etc….

    • erindallison says:

      If I try some new ones I’ll let you know! 🙂 So far we have been eating roasted or baked chicken, organic rice, frozen veggies, etc. Tonight we had Mexican lasagna with our organic grass fed beef. 🙂 We’ve also had spaghetti this week (with our usual whole wheat pasta). 🙂

  3. Pingback: Out with the Old and In with the New | knowwhatUReating

Leave a Reply

