BHT and BHA…The Inside Scoop

When I first started reading ingredient lists I noticed that many items contained BHT and/or BHA. What does this stand for? Bad, horrible, and terrible? Bad, horrible, and awful? Well, yes they are. BHT is butylated hydroxytoluene and BHA is butylated hydroxyanisole. These ingredients are made from coal tar or petroleum and are used to preserve fats (basically to keep them from going rancid). BHT is also used to preserve food odor, color, and flavor. BHT is used as embalming fluid and used in jet fuel. Do you want this in your FOOD? I don’t! According to About.com “The oxidative characteristics and/or metabolites of BHA and BHT may contribute to carcinogenicity or tumorigenicity” (that means the creation of cancer). The article goes on to state, “There is evidence that certain persons may have difficulty metabolizing BHA and BHT, resulting in health and behavior changes.”

BHT and BHA are banned in almost every other country EXCEPT for the US and BHA is considered a possible carcinogen by the World Health Organization and listed as a carcinogen in California! This should be a huge red flag. (The fact that it is banned from being used in baby food because it causes hyperactivity in children is also a red flag!)

BHT and BHA are found in many foods: cereals, snack foods, chewing gum, pies, cakes, processed meats, beer, butter, baked goods, dehydrated potatoes, and many many more. It is also found in animal feed, food packaging, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, rubber products, and petroleum products. In fact, I recently started reading labels of non-food items as well and I found BHT in my Bath and Body Works lotion and shower gel. Evidently it’s in many body products as I have found it in several things in our bathroom. UGH! Even worse, the other day I looked at the ingredient list on my Children’s Dye-Free Advil and it contains BHT (among other dangerous chemicals!)!! And don’t even get me started on the arguments that the amount is too small to cause health issues. It is bioaccumulative! So yes, while you might not die right away from ingesting rat poison how much would you have to ingest and for how long? Well, I don’t want to find out!

BHT in Advil (along with Disodium EDTA, propylene glycol, sodium benzoate, and polysorbate 80).

BHT in Advil (along with Disodium EDTA, propylene glycol, sodium benzoate, and polysorbate 80).

The first food items that I found in our house containing BHT were our cereals. I noticed that almost all of our Kellogg’s cereals said, “BHT added to packaging for freshness.” My mouth hit the floor because I had been giving my kids this cereal. So I began researching to find out if there were cereals out there that had a better option and I found a healthier choice. Vitamin E (usually listed as mixed tocopherals) is a natural alternative to BHT/BHA. I also found that many of General Mills cereals tend to use natural Vitamin E instead of the dangerous synthetic BHT.

Ingredients in Kellogg's Corn Flakes

Ingredients in Kellogg’s Corn Flakes

General Mills Multigrain Cheerios. Better alternative for preservatives.

General Mills Multigrain Cheerios. Better alternative for preservatives.


While doing research for this post I read many articles. I found 2 articles particularly helpful and I want to post the links for you so you can check them out too. Don’t just take my word for it. Do your own research!

http://voices.yahoo.com/are-bha-bht-preservatives-our-food-making-6074176.html?cat=5

http://foodidentitytheft.com/a-pair-of-preservatives-you-need-to-beware-of/

As I mentioned in my first post our family is taking baby steps. So we have decided to no longer buy any food containing BHT and/or BHA. Right now we are buying cereal with Vitamin E and hope to eventually switch to organic cereal (since even the cereals without BHT/BHA still likely contain GMOs).

Update: I found this link very helpful because it lists a few cereals that do not contain BHT. Trader Joe’s cereals also do not contain BHT or artificial colors. http://www.greenplaterule.com/health-nutrition/best-cereals/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to BHT and BHA…The Inside Scoop

  1. Courtney Willson says:

    I’d love for you to post a list of your favorite cereals without these ingredients. We typically stick with Fiber One, Kashi, and the occasional Lucky Charms so I’ll have to check those now!

    • erindurkee says:

      Hey! I’ve found that several General Mills cereals don’t have BHT. Lucky Charms does not have BHT (I checked last time I bought some) but the Chocolate Lucky Charms DID have it (go figure!). General Mills cereals like Cheerios and Multigrain Cheerios don’t have it. I looked up Fiber One online and I think it’s different with each kind. I would just be careful because some of the Fiber One cereals contain aspartame. 😦 As far as I know (according to online) Kashi does not contain BHT. 🙂 I found this link very helpful in listing out a few good cereals. 😉 http://www.greenplaterule.com/health-nutrition/best-cereals/

  2. Joy W. says:

    YAY–Ryan likes Cereal alot, thankful that Cheerios are good :-)!

    • erindallison says:

      Cheerios are definitely one of the better cereals but they do still mostly likely contain GMOs. 😦 Wish you had a Trader Joe’s out there. They have lots of good cereal for $2.99 (not a bad price).

  3. Pingback: Would you like some Petroleum with Your Dinner? | Om girls Guide

  4. Pingback: Calcium disodium ethylenediaminetetraacetate. Huh? | knowwhatUReating

  5. Pingback: Product Review: Lavilin Deodorant | knowwhatUReating

  6. CARL says:

    So which countries have banned BHT?

  7. Pingback: Propylene Glycol | knowwhatUReating

  8. Lindsay says:

    Nature’s Path cereals are a great option for Organic cereals and they also have many gluten free options too! 🙂

  9. PJ says:

    Cheerios is coming out with a non-GMO version too! 🙂

  10. Hawkeye says:

    Here is a link to a non-GMO shopping guide to foods that are actually safe for you and your families. Many manufacturers try to trick you by using words like “natural”, etc. which can fool you. http://www.centerforfoodsafety.org/issues/311/ge-foods/shoppers-guide-to-avoiding-ge-food
    Also here is a website that has a lot of really good information on it about what gmo foods do to you, and what aspartame does to you, etc. http://www.livehealthyforless.com
    If you want to know about and learn what is going on in this country that is hidden from you by the main stream media news sources, check this website out also: http://www.nesaranews.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

